September Blog a little late – Training Hard, Bike Rides and Altitude Training in the Chamber !

This month I have been getting my fitness back and getting back into shape. Also
getting back into a routine. Being an Athlete we are like creatures of habit
and we like having a routine!

The first few weeks back we did a lot of high heart rate sets in the pool and a lot
of work in the gym. This has been really good as I got my fitness back pretty
quickly. Not so great on my muscles though, I’ve had to have plenty of physio
and massage to get me through it.

Now we are heading into summer and the weather is getting better we are back
outside on our bikes once a week. We have been doing some sessions in the park
where we can do hill repetitions. Last week it was a beautiful sunny day in
Melbourne so we decided to do a bike session on beach road. It was the hardest
bike ride I have ever been on. The wind was really strong that day as well, so
one way on the ride was easy and on the way back in was horrendously hard! All
the way back to the car it was like riding up a hill. A couple of times I
nearly came off my bike because the gusts of wind were so strong. Altogether we
went 32k and its took us just under 2 hours. It was a great work out for my
legs even though it did take me 2 days to recover from it!

On the 26th October we fly to Sierra Nevada, Spain for a 3-week
altitude training camp. Next week we start our altitude training in a chamber
in the gym. Altitude training is when you train a couple of thousand metres
above sea level. There is less oxygen, which makes training harder, it also makes
normal activities such as walking up stairs more difficult. I have never done
it before but lots of Athletes do it, also lots of athletes from different
sports. I am looking forward to the experience.

 

Leave a Reply

